Agent 5mith?

So, I’m not really sure what to say about this one that hasn’t already been said. As far as DJ’s go, he’s pretty freaking amazing. As far as Canadian DJ’s go? Well, I’m not really that up to speed (read: if I had to choose a gear, it would be “derailed”) on the Canadian DJ scene, so I’m not sure where he is, but he has to be near if not at the top. But this isn’t just a rehash of all the stuff he’s done. Yeah, Ghosts ‘n’ Stuff is still pretty sweet the umpteenth time over, but there’s more to this Mau5 than the radio let’s on.

As a bit of an aside, I was fortunate to see him when he came and played (FOR FREE) at the 2010 Olympics. Yes, I was one of those people who lined up super early to guarantee a spot in. It worked out that I was right there after a Closing Ceremony rehearsal. Of course, with the fact that it was free comes with the fact that it was only some 90-100 minutes in length. Also it was NOWHERE near loud enough. Not sure what happened there, but it was still good, at least if you were up front. I was closer to the back though, but still totally worth it. I didn’t get a chance to get tickets for the legit concert he pulled off in July at the Coliseum (although I can’t remember for the life of me why I didn’t end up going…), but I think it was somewhere in the 3+ hour range. Pretty intense stuff.

Mainly I make reference to his Soundcloud page he started up about 7 months ago. He’s been using it to release some personal, experimental, and in progress stuff that isn’t suitable for a record release. It’s some pretty cool stuff as well. We are all familiar with the progressive house music he does oh so amazingly well, but might you be aware that he has dabbled a tad in the realm of dubstep? Or should I say, dub5step??? I was surprised. And then I was amazed. It’s too bad that he hasn’t put together a full length track (that I’ve heard, anyways). But who knows, maybe this is some foresight into the future for the next album release? Here’s hoping.

While the dubstep tracks made up his first four releases (appropriately titled “dub5tepthingie”),  he’s released some other tracks since then. For example, he’s released two extremely different versions of a song titled “Sleeping Pills,” one of which sounds like something Trent Reznor would put out. Like, eerily similar. No production credits, so I can’t say for sure if he collaborated on it at all. But crazy stuff there. Heading off the Soundcloud page, he’s done some work with an up and coming (or maybe he’s already arrived, he’s just that good) DJ by the name of Wolfgang Gartner.  Interesting that they both get equal credit for the songs they released. It sounds very Justice-ish, but definitely different enough to make it distinguishable. And still totally awesome.

And finally, the craziest thing I’ve found on his Soundcloud page thus far. As it turns out, the Ghosts ‘n’ Stuff he put on “For Lack of a Better Name” was certainly not the first incarnation. No surprise there, but he actually had a fully working/produced track of what he has called “old ghosts” [sic]. And I gotta say, it’s a pretty sweet deal. Perhaps not as produced as it should be for a single release (which makes sense as to why it never was publicly made available for purchase). It’s a song all its own, only roughly (well, a bit more than roughly, but you get the idea) following the chord progression of the released version.

You can go to his site here for most of these tracks. Although I do have a few tracks here, one of them which I made myself (well, in a manner of speaking…I wish I could produce music that well). One remix, one mashup, and the one aforementioned “edited” track.

Ah, Cut Copy and Deadmau5…of the mashups I’ve heard, this is probably my favourite, if not for the fact that it is just rap lyrics over the instrumental. That’s too easy. Redlight works in not only Cut Copy’s vocals for Hearts on Fire, but other melodious aspects as well.

Since remixes are an entirely different category than mashups…here’s a remix by Dirty Disco Youth. There are way too many remixes of this song floating around. This would also happen to be the best of what I’ve heard. It’s in good taste, and there are some out there that taste bitter after the first few seconds.

Finally, is a track that I put some EXTREMELY MINOR edits. To the point where I’m not even going to call it an edit. As I mentioned earlier, I was disappointed by how there was no full length (by which I mean anything less than 3 minutes in the electro world) of any dub5step production of his. So I thought, “Hey, two of these sound pretty similar, I can put them together for a full length track.” So I worked out the beat per second (by looking at waveform on Audacity), and cut and pasted the two together. Then in an attempt to make it flow, I trimmed the ending of the first song down a bit, forming a little bit of a drop when the second song kicks in. I’m debating making it 4 beats, but idk, I like the 8 beat break (if you can call it that) before the drop. It works for me. But yeah, I don’t take credit for any portion of the song. It’s a mix of dub5stepthingie 3 and 4, so I call it dub5stepthingie (3+4=7 Mix). Hopefully you like it.

Deadmau5 – dub5tepthingie (3+4=7 Mix)

**Update: In line with his dub5step, turns out Deadmau5 did a collab with SOFI (short for Some Other Female Interest) on a new track that he dropped yesterday.   I was only made aware of the video now.  Pretty sweet deal if you ask me.

